Meet the Executive Leadership Board

The College of Pharmacy Executive Leadership Board, led by Dean Donald E. Letendre, was established in 2010 to advise the College of Pharmacy as it develops and works towards its strategic goals and visions.  The members of the board meet periodically to discuss the college's strategic plan, changes in the curriculum, trends in pharmacy practice, fundraising, and facilities.


Thomas Veale is the founder and president of TRISTAR Insurance Group, one of the nation's largest diversified insurance services firms with 30 offices and nearly 1,000 employees throughout the United States.

Steve Baird has 25 years of experience in protecting the trademarks associated with brands.

Beth Bird is a healthcare information solutions consultant for Castlight Health, a company seeking to tackle one of health care’s fundamental problems — the lack of transparency into the price and quality of health care.

Melissa Murer Corrigan serves as ACT’s Vice President, Social Impact Strategy and Programs.

Dennis M. Erb was recently named the Head of Research and Lexington Site Leader, Cubist Pharmaceutics, a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc. 

Rick Gates is the Vice President of Pharmacy Operations at Walgreens, based in Deerfield, Illinois.

Miekeleen Koerth Hart is the founder and CEO of MDK Consulting LLC, which provides strategy development and implementation consulting services to health care companies considering or executing new commercial models.

Kerry “Gus” Hartauer is a senior director at Eli Lilly in the Lilly Research Laboratories.

Kathleen Jaeger is the senior vice president of pharmacy care and patient advocacy of the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) an organization committed to advancing the interests and objectives of the chain community pharmacy industry by fostering its growth and promoting its role as a provider of healthcare services and consumer products.

Timothy Lehan is a community practice pharmacist and the owner and president of Lehan Drugs, Inc., based in DeKalb, Illinois.

Donald Letendre is Dean and Professor of the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. Previously, he held those titles at the University of Rhode Island, and was executive secretary of the Rhode Island State Crime Laboratory Commission.

Miller is president of Miller Purcell Inc, a pharmacy management company that manages seven pharmacies for Mercy Medical Center-Dubuque.

James Otterbeck is the chairman of OnePoint Patient Care, the largest independently owned hospice pharmacy services provider.

Mike Pursel has 19 years of experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry, 8 years in pharmacy association management and 37 years as a pharmacist.  He is currently Director, Medical Health Relations for Sanofi Biosurgery. 

Jenelle Sobotka is Professor and Director of Online Certificate and Master's Programs in Pharmacy Leadership at the University of Cincinnati. 

Leslie J. Williams is director, founder, president, & CEO of ImmusanT.

Victor A. Yanchick served as Dean and Professor of the School of Pharmacy at Virginia Commonwealth University since July 1, 1996 and retired July 1, 2014.

Edward Yorty, MS Fin, FCAS, MAAA, is the Chief Executive Officer of Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Company and its subsidiaries. He was elected to the Board of Directors in 2011 and serves as Chair of the Executive and Corporate Planning committees.

Executive Leadership Board