The mission of APhA-ASP is to be the collective voice of student pharmacists, to provide opportunities for professional growth, to improve patient care, and to envision and advance the future of pharmacy.

APhA-ASP is the nation’s largest student pharmacist organization, with over 30,000 student members. The University of Iowa chapter consists of over 350 students from all class years.  APhA-ASP is a part of the larger American Pharmacists Association (APhA), which includes pharmacist members from ALL specialties within the profession (community, hospital, research, nuclear, etc.).  As a result, membership in APhA-ASP allows one to network with fellow students from every class year and pharmacists in many practice areas, nationwide.


  • Monthly chapter meetings with guest speakers
  • Regional meeting in the Fall  and a National meeting in the Spring
  • Opportunities for community service through our Patient Care Projects
  • Operation Immunization
  • Operation Diabetes
  • OTC Medication Safety
  • Operation Bone Health
  • Operation Heart
  • Generation Rx
  • Smoking Cessation
  • Katy's Kids (a poison-prevention program for elementary school children)
  • Health fairs
  • Blood drives
  • Fundraising activities including clothing sales, Annual Fall Food Tour, and a silent auction
  • Professional development sessions including a CV/Resume workshop
  • APhA-ASP Patient Counseling Contest, with an opportunity to compete at the national level
  • Leadership opportunities including P1 Member-at-Large, Patient Care Project Coordinator, Chapter Officer, Regional Officer, and even National Committee Member


  • The opportunity to apply for APhA-ASP scholarships, specialized internships and externships, and study abroad experiences
  • Discounted and/or reimbursed meeting attendance (various state, regional and national meetings)​
  • Subscriptions to three pharmacy publications included with dues (Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, Pharmacy Today, and Student Pharmacist)
  • Discounts on textbooks through
  • Access to members-only sections of organization websites

Dues: $60, which includes national APhA-ASP dues, chapter dues, and IPSF (International Pharmaceutical Students’ Federation) membership.

Learn more at:

2018-2019 Officers

President: Amy Dunleavy
President-Elect: Rebecca McCaughey
Executive Vice President: Lucas Faley
Financial Vice President: Francesca Milavetz
Membership Vice President: Marjorie Peck
Communications Vice President: Caelee Batterson
Vice President of Patient Care: Kelsey Coffman
International Vice President: Courtney Major
Vice President of Policy: Guadalupe Chavez

Advisors: Susan Vos and Bill Doucette