June 04, 2012

The College of Pharmacy Teachers of the Year for 2011-2012 were recently announced. The teachers were selected by a committee consisting of the previous year’s Teachers of the Year, taking into consideration student recommendations, reviews of the nominees' teaching philosophies, and other supporting documents. The winners will be formally recognized at the scholarship reception this fall.

The 2011-2012 Teacher of the Year winners

Aliasger K Salem
, PhD
Collegiate Teacher of the Year

Aliasger Salem, PhD, is an Associate Professor in the Division of Pharmaceutics and Translational Therapeutics at The University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. He was educated in Applied Chemistry at Aston University of Science and Technology, Birmingham, UK (BSc 1998). He received his PhD in Pharmacy at the University of Nottingham, UK in 2002. He then received postdoctoral training at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine until 2004. His research interests are primarily focused on self-assembling systems, the rational design of novel drug and gene delivery systems and on the development of vaccines that stimulate potent antigen-specific immune responses. His laboratory applies microfabrication techniques to develop novel drug and gene delivery devices and to optimize control over polymer-cell interactions. Salem's research group is currently exploring the synergistic application of polymer particle technology. CpG oligonucleotides, adenoviruses, and heat shock protein therapy for generating sustained stronger immune responses against tumors. He is the author of over 125 scholarly publications and presentations and has published in journals that include the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), Nature Materials, Advanced Materials, Bioconjugate Chemistry, Biomaterials, Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmaceutical Research, Journal of Controlled Release and the International Journal of Pharmaceutics. Dr. Salem is on a number of editorial advisory boards including those of the International Journal of Pharmaceutics and Nanotube Therapy and serves on international and national grant review panels for organizations that include the American Cancer Society (ACS), the National Institutes for Health (NIH), and the Department of Defense (DoD): Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs (CDMRP).

Erika J Ernst
P3 Teacher of the Year

Erika Ernst, PharmD is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy and a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, infectious diseases at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. She received her Doctor of Pharmacy Degree from the University of Southern California in 1992. After completing a pharmacy practice residency at USC and a fellowship in infectious diseases pharmacy practice at the University of California, San Francisco, she joined the faculty at the University of Iowa. Her practice and research interests include improving antimicrobial utilization and pharmacoepidemiology. She is an active member and President-elect of the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists. 

Deanna L McDanel
P2 Teacher of the Year

Deanna McDanel, PharmD is a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Ambulatory Care at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (UIHC) and an Associate Professor (Clinical) at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.  She also serves as the Program Director for the PGY2 Ambulatory Care Residency and Residency Coordinator for the PGY1 Pharmacy Residency Ambulatory Care focused track.  Dr. McDanel received her PharmD degree from the University of Iowa and completed an ASHP-Accredited Specialized Residency in Primary Care at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. Her primary practice sites include the Internal Medicine, Anticoagulation, Allergy/Immunology, and Pharmacotherapy Clinics. She serves as a preceptor in the Ambulatory Care Clinics at UIHC to residents and PharmD students. She has also served as a mentor for the College of Pharmacy Professional Mentoring Program since 2006. Deanna is an active member in multiple organizations including the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Iowa Pharmacy Association, Johnson County Pharmacy Association, and Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity, Inc. Dr. McDanel had been the Grand Council Deputy (Faculty Advisor) for the University of Iowa Delta Zeta Chapter of Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity since 2003. She has also served in leadership roles for multiple organizations in local, regional, and national levels. 

Jonathan A Doorn
, PhD
P1 Teacher of the Year

Jonathan Doorn, PhD is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Experimental Therapeutics at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. In 1996, he received a BS in Biochemistry from Calvin College (Grand Rapids, MI) and was awarded a PhD in Toxicology from the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor, MI) in 2001. Prior to joining the University of Iowa in 2004, Jon Doorn performed an NIH/NRSA-supported postdoctoral fellowship in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy. He lectures on medicinal chemistry, pharmacology and toxicology to both pharmacy and graduate students and serves on various committees to advance the educational mission of the College of Pharmacy. Jon Doorn directs an NIH-funded research program that studies the role of a reactive intermediate of dopamine metabolism in Parkinson’s Disease with the goals of identifying novel drug targets and elucidating biomarkers for earlier disease diagnosis.