Tuesday, June 16, 2015

The Iowa Pharmacy Association Annual Meeting was held June 11-13, 2015 in Coralville. Pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and student pharmacists gathered to participate in policy discussions, attend educational sessions, and network with fellow pharmacy leaders. This year’s meeting focused on healthcare collaboration, with presentations from statewide and national perspectives.

The House of Delegates met for two sessions on Friday and Saturday mornings. The sessions were led by Speaker of the House Connie Connolly (’92 BSPh). Following the House of Delegates session and luncheon on Friday afternoon, poster presentations were showcased in the Exhibit Hall.

On Friday night, the President’s Reception and Annual Banquet was held. Adjunct instructor and 2014 Honorary Alumni Award Recipient Bob Greenwood was sworn in as the 2015-2016 IPA president at the reception. IPA’s annual awards were presented at the banquet, many of which were given to UI College of Pharmacy alumni, faculty, and students.

At the second House of Delegates session, Clinical Associate Professor Susan Vos was elected as Vice Speaker of the House.

Award Recipients:

Excellence in Innovation Award: Ryan Jacobsen (Clinical Assistant Professor, College of Pharmacy, and Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Ambulatory Care, UIHC)

Ryan Jacobsen is a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist and Clinical Coordinator for Ambulatory Care Services at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (UIHC) and a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy where he has been instrumental in helping advance ambulatory care clinical practice and interprofessional education.

Robert G. Gibbs Distinguished Pharmacist Award: Ed Maier (’70 BSPh, former Executive Leadership Board Member)

Edward Maier worked at Griffin Pharmacy from eighth grade through college and as a pharmacist after graduating from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy in 1970. He purchased the pharmacy in 1981 and sold it when he retired in 2013. Maier has been on the IPA Board of Directors, President of IPA, Chairman of the Iowa Pharmacy Foundation and numerous committees. He co-chaired the Unification Task Force forming IPA from the Iowa Society of Hospital Pharmacists and the Iowa Pharmacists Association. Maier was appointed to the Iowa Board of Health in 2001 and the Iowa Board of Pharmacy in 2008. He has just completed a term as Chair of the Board of Pharmacy and will serve until May of 2017. He was one of the first to join the Iowa Center for Pharmaceutical Care and an original investor in Outcomes MTM. He continues his interest in pharmaceutical care through board involvement in the community practice model project.

Bowl of Hygeia: Richard Hartig (Executive Leadership Board member; 2011 Honorary Alumni Award recipient)

Richard Hartig is the owner, chairman, and chief executive officer of Hartig Drug Stores, a regional pharmacy chain headquartered in Dubuque, Iowa. He is a director of the Iowa College Foundation, the American Trust and Savings Bank, and the National Association of Chain Drug Stores. He is also a member of the Board of Trustees at Drake, in addition to a number of not‐for‐profit organizations. Hartig holds two degrees from Drake University, a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy and Master in Business Administration. He received the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy Honorary Alumni Award in 2011 for his involvement in the President’s Club, Dean’s Club, 1885 Society, Executive Leadership Board, and his company’s support as a corporate sponsor of the college.

Distinguished Young Pharmacist: Angie Spannagel (Adjunct Assistant Professor; ’09 PharmD)

Angie Spannagel was selected in recognition of her commitment to advancement of pharmacy practice, including leadership, research, clinical expertise, and mentorship. Spannagel is the primary preceptor at Osterhaus Pharmacy where she mentors students from five colleges of pharmacy as well as University of Iowa PGY1 community pharmacy residents. She holds positions as adjunct faculty at the University of Iowa, Drake University and St. Louis College of Pharmacy.

Health-Systems Pharmacist of the Year: Dave Weetman (Adjunct Assistant Professor; ’91 BSPh)

Dave Weetman serves as the Director for Inpatient Care Services at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and has served in numerous management roles with UIHC for nearly 20 years. Weetman serves as an adjunct assistant professor at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy and coordinates and teaches in the Health-System Management class. He is an active member of ASHP, serving as faculty advisor for the College’s student chapter. He has served as past chair and vice-chair of ASHP’s Pharmacy Management Council and has represented Iowa numerous times as a delegate. He is currently on the IPA Board of Trustees.

Honorary President: Bruce Alexander (Clinical Professor Emeritus)

Bruce Alexander received his BS in Pharmacy in 1974 from Drake University and his Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Minnesota in 1976. Bruce retired in 2014 after serving 27 years at the VA in Iowa City as Clinical Pharmacist Specialist in Psychiatry and Associate Chief of Pharmacy. His clinical work was in inpatient psychiatry and he had a consultative practice in outpatient mental health, where he served as a preceptor for ambulatory care pharmacy residents and as a project collaborator. Alexander taught as an Assistant Clinical Professor at the University of Iowa for 29 years in varying capacities. In addition to his practice and academia experiences, he has been a long-time member of IPA, and has served on the Board of Trustees, the Health-Systems Liaison Board, and various other state advisory councils. He has also been an instrumental asset to the Iowa Pharmacy Recovery Network, serving as the Chair of IPRN since its inception.

Generation Rx Award: Lawrence Fleckenstein (Professor Emeritus)

Larry Fleckenstein was Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacokinetics at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy from 1991 to 2014 and is currently Professor Emeritus. Fleckenstein has been an IPA member since 1992. He resides in Iowa City with his wife Barbara. In selecting Fleckenstein as IPA’s 2015 recipient of the GenerationRX Award, the Board of Trustees recognizes his efforts in supporting the many DEA Take Back events over the past several years. He donated his time and effort to help Generation Rx and the Iowa City Police Department as they partnered with Iowa City Recycling Center to collect medications and sharps for proper disposal.

Karbeling Leadership Award: Alyssa Billmeyer (’16 PharmD)

Alyssa Billmeyer is pursuing her Doctorate of Pharmacy and Masters of Public Health degrees at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy and is expecting to graduate in May 2016. She has been an active member of IPA, participating in Legislative Day, Capitol Screenings, the Bill Burke Conference, and serves as a member of the Health-System Liaison Board. She has also been an active member in APhA-ASP, the Iowa Student Leadership Council, Phi Lambda Sigma, and the Graduate and Proefssional Student Government at the University of Iowa. She has dedicated much of her time advocating to help advance the profession of pharmacy. Billmeyer has been politically active and has been called a number of times to represent the college at meetings, on committees and at the state house.

Poster Presentation Award: Natalie Blaine, (’16 PharmD)

“Evaluation of physician-pharmacist collaboration model,” Blaine N, Finkelstein RJ, Parker CP, Carter BL.

50 Year Pharmacists:

  • Edward Bean (’64 BSPh)
  • John Drzycimski (’65 BSPh)
  • Duane Haberichter (’64 BSPh)
  • David Johnson (’65 BSPh)
  • Carl Rouse (’64 BSPh)
  • Wayne Ruhl (’65 BSPh)