Wednesday, October 15, 2014

In a symposium held on Thursday, October 9, the College of Pharmacy celebrated the recipient of the 2014 Osterhaus Medal for Lifetime Achievement Award, Thomas J. Johnsrud.

TJ Johnsrud is a 1966 graduate of the college and is the founder and president of NuCara Management Group, LLC, headquartered in Conrad, Iowa, which oversees pharmacy locations in Iowa, Illinois, Minnesota, North Dakota and Texas. He has been honored for his commitment to excellence in pharmacy in Iowa with the 1991 Bowl of Hygiea, the 2001 Robert G. Gibbs Distinguished Pharmacist Award, and the 2003 Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.

“TJ exemplifies the spirit of entrepreneurism. His business ventures and professional organizational endeavors serve as testament to his drive, determination, and commitment to advancing pharmacy practice,” said College of Pharmacy Dean Donald E. Letendre. “He has been a lifelong devoted college alumnus and friend to countless pharmacists nationwide.”

Mr. Johnsrud has served as past president and remains a current member of the Iowa Pharmacy Association, where he is chairman of the Task Force on the Iowa Pharmacists New Practice Model. TJ was the first chairman of the board of PACE Alliance multi-state pharmacy buying group. He is a member of the National Community Pharmacists Association, the American Pharmaceutical Association, the National Association of Chain Drugstores, and a lifetime member of the University of Iowa Alumni Association. TJ is currently serving on the Executive Leadership Board of the College of Pharmacy of the University of Iowa. He has served the University of Iowa on the Dean’s Advisory Council for the College of Pharmacy, the College of Pharmacy Second Century Fundraising Campaign Committee, the University of Iowa College Curriculum Advisory Council, and by participating as a President’s Club member since 1983, Golden Hawk member since 1982, and the Kinnick Society since 2003.

The Osterhaus Medal for Lifetime Achievement Award is presented annually to one or more individuals who have made extraordinary achievements in the pharmacy profession. This medal is the pinnacle award given by the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, for a recipient who has advanced the practice of pharmacy in profound ways, or made substantial strides in drug development or drug discoveries.