Friday, May 8, 2015

Deanna L. McDanel
Deanna McDanel has been named among the nation’s best pharmacy preceptors. The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy recently announced the selection of eight individuals to their Master Preceptor Recognition Program. These pharmacy professionals exemplify dedication and commitment to excellence in experiential education and professional practice.

Preceptors supervise student pharmacists in pharmacy practice experiences, and play a critical role in shaping a student’s future career through teaching and mentoring, something McDanel has been involved with since graduating from the UI College of Pharmacy in 2001. 

She has served as a preceptor, clinical associate professor, and clinical pharmacist – among other roles – throughout her career. Since 2002, McDanel has been a clinical pharmacy specialist in ambulatory care at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, where she coordinates a Post-Graduate Year 1 (PGY1) Pharmacy Residency with a focus in Ambulatory Care and directs a PGY2 Ambulatory Care Pharmacy Residency.

“McDanel is the epitome of someone who leads by example. She shows the students how they can remain active in professional organizations and community service as a busy practitioner with two young children,” said nominator, clinical associate professor, and director of the Professional Experience Program, Susan Vos.

In 2008, McDanel along with her practice colleagues, were recognized as the Faculty Preceptors of the Year. In 2012, McDanel was also awarded as the College of Pharmacy P2 Teacher of the Year, further exemplifying her passion and talent for developing the highest-caliber pharmacists. 

As Dean Donald Letendre put it, “McDanel is unequivocally a pharmacy ‘rock star’! Her reputation is founded on her credibility as a practitioner and educator as well as her record of achievement in applied research.”

The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) has represented the interests of pharmacy education since its foundation in 1900. The Master Preceptor Recognition was founded to recognize outstanding preceptors from over 134 accredited colleges and schools with pharmacy degree programs. By selecting and rewarding many of the best pharmacy preceptors from around the country, AACP hopes to continue the cyclical model of education, mentorship, and professional success throughout pharmacy professions.