About the award

The College of Pharmacy Award for Teaching Excellence is a peer-reviewed nomination process for recognizing outstanding faculty. Clinical-track faculty, tenure-track faculty, lecturers, visiting faculty and adjunct faculty are eligible for consideration through self-nomination or nomination by colleagues.

The College of Pharmacy Academic Performance/Awards and Recognition Committee follows the UI President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence model for content of candidate support materials. This ensures sufficient information to select awardees and to employ uniform, university-wide standards in choosing recipients.

2019 College of Pharmacy Award for Teaching Excellence Recipient

Jonathan A Doorn
, PhD

Jon Doorn, BS, MS, PhD, received the 2019 College of Pharmacy Award for Teaching Excellence.

Doorn is a faculty member in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Experimental Therapeutics (PSET) and leads the Division of Medicinal and Natural Products Chemistry.

He is fueled professionally by undertaking advanced work in the biomedical sciences—especially in medicinal chemistry, pharmacology, and toxicology. He is driven to stay up to date in his fields and to pass along that knowledge to students of all levels.