About the award

Each year the college of pharmacy recognizes preceptors with awards.  These preceptors excel in experiential teaching of student pharmacists.

2019 Faculty Preceptor Recipient

Jim Hoehns
Northeast Iowa Family Practice Center

Jim Hoehns, PharmD, BCPS, FCCP is an associate clinical professor at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. He is a clinical pharmacist and research director at the Northeast Iowa Family Practice Center (NEIFPC) in Waterloo. NEIFPC is the medical home for the Northeast Iowa Family Medicine Physician Residency Program. Hoehns has been in this shared position since 1995. He maintains an ambulatory clinical practice and also spends time rounding with the resident physician inpatient team at a local hospital. He is a preceptor and teacher for pharmacy students and medical residents.

Hoehns has been an investigator on over 120 clinical trials at NEIFPC. He is the founding director of the NEIFPC/Waverly Health Center PGY1 Pharmacy Residency Program and served as its program director for 21 years. He obtained a BSPh in 1992 and PharmD in 1994 from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. Following graduation, Hoehns completed a residency in Family Medicine at the University of Iowa. He maintains board certification as a Pharmacotherapy Specialist.