Committees and Councils

The mission of the Assessment Committee is to establish and ensure ongoing and systematic educational assessment and improvement to achieve student pharmacist learning outcomes.

The Awards Committee is charged with advancing faculty and staff recognition by systematically ensuring collegiate nominations. This committee answers to the Director of External Relations.

The College Council consists of the College’s Deans, Directors, Division Heads, Student Council President, Business Officer, External Relations Director, and ex officio membership by the Assistant to the Executive Dean.

The Laboratory Safety Committee has responsibility to recommend procedures and policies to ensure that the college’s operations, especially those carried out in research and development laboratories, are conducted in a safe and responsible manner.  It will work in close coordination with the UI Office of Environmental Health and Safety (EHS) to promote the health and safety of students, faculty, and staff in the College of Pharmacy that work in and near these laboratory facilities.  The committee reports to the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs.​​​​​​​

The mission of the College of Pharmacy Staff Council is to facilitate communication within the academic and service divisions of the College, develop an understanding among the staff of College of Pharmacy strategic goals and challenges, advise the Dean on staff policies within the discretion of the College, advocate changes or improvements and recognize staff members for their service.

This committee supervises the college’s faculty promotion process on behalf of the Dean and provides the Dean with a recommendation concerning faculty promotions. Members of the Collegiate Consultant Group are elected from each division and approved by the Dean.

The Curriculum Committee ensures that the didactic and experiential curricula and the learning environment provide appropriate and sufficient opportunities for students to achieve program educational outcomes by monitoring and evaluating structure, content, processes and delivery of the program.  The Curriculum Committee manages curricular development and improvement and is primarily responsible for achievement of ACPE Standards 10, 11, 12, and 13.

The College of Pharmacy Diversity Committee is an active advisory committee that serves the college by increasing awareness and appreciation of diversity and advises the Dean regarding recruitment and retention, monitoring college climate, and facilitating opportunities for the College of Pharmacy to engage in UI diversity initiatives.

The executive committee consists of department chairs, collegiate directors, and persons holding Dean rank, and is chaired by the Dean. The committee meets regularly to offer advice and counsel regarding policy issues and other items of major importance and may at its discretion act for the faculty on an interim basis between faculty meetings. This committee serves as the major two-way information conduit between administration and faculty.

This committee provides advice and is responsible to the Dean and to the Graduate College for the operation of the college's program of research and graduate education. This committee oversees policy formulation, including establishment of new programs, approval of new graduate courses and formation of general criteria for admission and dismissal of students. GERC also assists the college administration with efforts to raise funds for support of activities within its purview and with development of compensation policies and other matters of college-wide managerial concern.

The Information Technology Committee is responsible for providing leadership and guidance for technology projects, services and related infrastructure within the University of Iowa, College of Pharmacy. The committee promotes communication, cooperation and coordination of technology activities. The committee also assists with the prioritization of technology initiatives to help ensure proper alignment with the College strategic plan and makes recommendations regarding the use of student technology fees.

This committee is responsible for criteria development and for admissions of students into the PharmD program.  The committee reports to the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs.

This committee is responsible for reviewing the academic records of all students and advising the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Assistant Dean of Assessment when administrative action is required. This committee is responsible for investigating formal complaints of academic misconduct.