Dennis Helling

, BSPharm, PharmD, ScD (Hon)

This person appears in:


Dennis K. Helling, BSPharm, PharmD, ScD (Hon), FCCP, FASHP, FAPhA is the executive director emeritus, Pharmacy Operations and Therapeutics, Kaiser Permanente Colorado; and a clinical professor at the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Helling served Kaiser from 1992-2013. The pharmacy department he directed employed over 900 staff at its 37 pharmacies, emphasizing expanded roles for pharmacists and ambulatory clinical services.

Helling was a founding member and president of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP). He also served as president of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education and the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation. Helling has been actively involved in hospice and palliative care for many years, having served on the Board of Directors of Care Synergy and as vice-chair of the Denver Hospice Board of Directors.

Helling graduated from the St. Louis College of Pharmacy (BSPharm) and University of Cincinnati College of Pharmacy (PharmD), and completed a clinical/hospital pharmacy residency at Cincinnati General Hospital. He received an Honorary Doctor of Science from Mercer University.

At the University of Houston (1988-1992), and the University of Iowa (1973-1988), Helling held numerous faculty and administrative positions. His practice emphasis and research have been focused on documenting the impact pharmacists have on improving patient and economic outcomes.

He is the recipient of many professional awards, including the APhA Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award, Colorado Pharmacists Association Bowl of Hygeia Award, and the APhA Distinguished Achievement Award for Specialized Pharmaceutical Services. Helling was the inaugural recipient of the ACCP Paul Parker Medal for Distinguished Service to the Profession of Pharmacy. He received Distinguished Alumnus Awards from the St. Louis College of Pharmacy and the University of Cincinnati, and an Honorary Alumnus Award from the UI. In 2013, he was APhA's Remington Honor Medalist, the profession’s highest recognition. In 2014, his department won the top American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Foundation Pharmacy Residency Excellence Award for its PGY2 Ambulatory Care Residency.