Susan Winkler

Susan Winckler

, BSPh, JD



Susan Winckler is the Managing Partner of the Leavitt Partners Washington DC office and leads the daily operations and client relationships of the office. Founded by former HHS Secretary and EPA Administrator Michael O. Leavitt, the partnership advises senior executive teams about health care developments, particularly the emerging role of value in health care. Ms. Winckler is the former Chief of the Staff for the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Most recently, Ms. Winckler served as the President and CEO of the Food and Drug Law Institute, a non-profit organization providing a marketplace for discussing food and drug law issues through conferences, publications and member interaction.

Prior to joining FDA, Ms. Winckler was the vice president for Policy and Communications and Staff Counsel for the American Pharmacists Association (APhA).  She served as the primary spokesperson for APhA during media interviews, and was APhA’s senior lobbyist. Prior to joining APhA, Ms. Winckler directed the implementation of the Iowa Medicaid Drug Prior Authorization Program for the Unisys Company and worked for the Iowa Pharmacists Association (now the Iowa Pharmacy Association) and for a community pharmacy in Iowa. 

She is licensed to practice pharmacy in Iowa and admitted to the bar in the commonwealth of Virginia.


She has been recognized as a Distinguished Young Alumna by the University of Iowa Alumni Association, elected as a Distinguished Fellow in Public Policy to the National Academies of Practice, Pharmacy Academy, and named a Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association. She was awarded the 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award from the UI College of Pharmacy and, in 2014, delivered the William A. Zellmer Lecture for the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.


Ms. Winckler graduated with a Bachelor of Science in pharmacy from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy in 1992. She also received a Juris Doctor in 2001 from the Georgetown University Law Center, magna cum laude.