Zada Cooper Leadership Symposium
Presented by the UI College of Pharmacy, the Zada Cooper Leadership Symposium seeks to honor Zada Mary Cooper’s legacy of leadership by encouraging attendees to #belikeZada. Be trailblazing, be collaborative, be innovative, be bold, and be involved!

The symposium will feature influential leaders who will share their experiences and expertise on leadership including varying leadership pathways and overcoming leadership challenges. The symposium will also offer attendees opportunities to make career-enhancing connections and build their networks.

Attendees from all disciplines are encouraged to attend, and professional headshots will be offered at no charge.

          May 8, 2021 (tentatively scheduled, dependent on COVID-19)

          College of Pharmacy Building
         180 South Grand Avenue
         Iowa City, Iowa 52242

Zada Cooper American Pharmacists Month
Leadership Seminar

You are invited to attend a virtual leadership seminar, honoring American Pharmacists Month and Zada Cooper’s legacy of leadership. #belikeZada

Zada Cooper American Pharmacists Month Leadership Seminar


About the Symposium

Healthcare in Iowa is known for its outstanding leaders and innovative thinkers. Nationwide our stakeholders are fully aware that Iowa sets the bar for education, collaboration, and innovation.

Leadership is very much a part of Iowa's healthcare history. Dating back to the early days of pharmacy education, the University of Iowa cultivated pioneers. One of those remarkable leaders was Zada Mary Cooper (1875–1961), who graduated from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy in 1897, and continued as a faculty member until retiring in 1942. She was one of the founders of the Women’s Section of the American Pharmacists Association, founder of Kappa Epsilon Fraternity and the Rho Chi Society, and secretary of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy from 1922 to 1942. She was an advocate of women in pharmacy, and later became known as the “grand and glorious lady of pharmacy.”

Learning Objectives

The Zada Cooper Leadership Symposium strives to:

• Inspire attendees by inviting leaders to present, engage, and model leadership;
• Encourage all healthcare providers (practitioners, researchers, students, residents, and academicians) to become involved in their profession and community;
• Increase awareness of current and emerging leadership challenges;
• Facilitate and promote connections – students, residents, and practitioners to engage in informal conversation with leaders;
• Inspire all participants to reach out and become leaders; “Big L,” or “Little L;”
• Introduce varying leadership pathways and thoughts on leadership;
• Collaborate and build networks.