Alumni and Friends News

July 06, 2017
Michael W. Kelly, ’73 BSPh, ’88 PharmD, ‘89 MS, associate dean for professional education, has received the 2017 College of Pharmacy Award for Teaching Excellence.
July 05, 2017
Family members of Christopher Efobi, '54 BSPh, recently visited from their home in Georgia. When Efobi—their father and grandfather—came from Nigeria to study at the UI College of Pharmacy, they traveled by steamboat.
June 01, 2017
Rachel Grolmus in Belize with the college in 2017
The Summer 2017 version of HawkScripts Magazine had the theme: From Iowa to the World: The University of Iowa College of Pharmacy impacts the world. In turn the college is shaped by its global connections.
March 07, 2017
Researchers at the College of Pharmacy were recently issued a patent for their work on a novel and innovative nanoparticle formulation of chemoimmunotherapies for treatment of cancer, "Biodegradable Particulate Formulations."
March 02, 2017
Brett Barker of Nevada, and Gayle Mayer, from Spirit Lake, were appointed to the Iowa Board of Pharmacy. Barker is a 2008 graduate of the College of Pharmacy, who serves on the Genesis Board, and is an adjunct assistant professor. Mayer is an adjunct instructor for the college.
February 28, 2017
The project is currently in the deep foundations stage, which will be completed in March.
February 10, 2017
Jacob Simmering is a research specialist in the Division of Health Services Research, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science and a data scientist for UI Health Ventures. He takes questions and data to provide insights into health care services, quality, and effectiveness.
November 01, 2016
Brad Gilchrist, an an administrative services specialist and building coordinator, who serves as a representative and liaison for the College of Pharmacy new building project between the project manager, construction managers, design team, and the college.
October 18, 2016
UI College of Pharmacy students and alumni attended the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Annual Meeting Oct. 15-19 in New Orleans. The college’s NCPA student chapter was voted to receive the NCPA Foundation’s National Chapter of the Year Award, and Randy McDonough was named the NCPA 2016 Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year.
October 17, 2016
William Wise joined the College of Pharmacy as the new director of finance effective Oct. 10, 2016. In this position, Wise is responsible for planning, administration, and evaluation of the College of Pharmacy’s fiscal activities.