2012 Osterhaus Medal for Lifetime Achievement Recipients

Robert Osterhaus

Robert Osterhaus received his BSPh from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy in 1952. Upon his return from service in the U.S. Army, he served as a staff pharmacist in Anamosa, Iowa. In 1965, Osterhaus purchased the present Osterhaus Snyder Pharmacy. He is a strong advocate for patient-focused pharmaceutical care, pharmacy education, and the pharmacy profession.

Osterhaus has mentored countless students and professionals. His business, Osterhaus-Snyder Pharmacy in Maquoketa, Iowa, is a leading community clerkship site for the UI College of Pharmacy, and has earned national recognition for its patient-centered approach and emphasis on the pharmacist's role in health care.

Osterhaus has served as board president for the Iowa Pharmacists Association; chair of the state Board of Pharmacy Examiners; president of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education and the American Pharmacists Association; and a member of the executive committee for the International Pharmaceutical Federation Community Pharmacy Section and the Governor's Medical Home Advisory Council for the Iowa Department of Public Health. He's received dozens of state, national, and international awards, including American Pharmacists Association Remington Medal, the highest recognition given in the profession of pharmacy

He also served four terms in the Iowa House of Representatives from 1995 to 2003, contributing his perspective as a health care professional and shaping legislative initiatives like the HAWK-I insurance plan for children from low-income families.

In May 2012, Osterhaus received an honorary Doctor of Science degree from the University of Iowa.

, BSPh

Max Eggleston received a BSPh in 1947 from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. He served as a Waverly, Iowa community pharmacist from 1948 to 1984, and owner of the Pharmacy Sales and Management Company from 1984 to 1997.

Throughout his career, Eggleston held numerous leadership roles in the Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA), the Iowa Board of Pharmacy, and the College of Pharmacy. In addition to serving as president of IPA, Eggleston was also a founding director of the Iowa Pharmacy Foundation and Pharmacy Network of Iowa.

Eggleston was involved in several major pharmacy organizations on the national level, as well. He served as president of the American Pharmaceutical Association (now the American Pharmacists Association) and the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education.

In 1995, Eggleston received the highest award in the American pharmacy profession, the Remington Honor Medal. He was also awarded the Bowl of Hygeia, the Distinguished Pharmacist award, and a 50-Year Certificate Award.

Eggleston was actively involved in service to his hometown of Waverly. His volunteer leadership in his community included founder and chairman of the Waverly Community Chest, the forerunner of the Waverly United Way; as chairman of the Waverly Industrial Development Commission; and as chairman of the Waverly Chamber of Commerce. He passed away November 6, 1997, in Waverly, Iowa.

Thomas Temple

Thomas Temple was the Executive Vice President and CEO of the Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA) from 1980 until 2012. Mr. Temple received a Bachelor of Science in Biology from Northern Illinois University (1971), a BSPh from the University of Illinois (1975) and a MS in Pharmacy Administration from the University of Iowa (1977).

While executive officer of IPA, Temple also served as CEO of the Iowa Pharmacy Foundation (IPF) and the Collaborative Education Institute (CEI) – two subsidiary and related corporations of the Iowa Pharmacy Association.

Temple is a member of several professional organizations including IPA, the American Pharmacists Association, the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA), and the American Society of Association Executives. A past president of NASPA, he has served as a board member for the Alliance for Patient Medication Safety, Pharmacy Marketing Group, and the Iowa Initiative to Reduce Unintended Pregnancies. He has also served as a member of numerous professional committees including the Medic Alert National Task Force, the ACPE’s CE Advisory Council, ACPE’s Doctoral Fellowship Committee, the State Advisory Panel to the National Pharmacy Technician Certification Board and Advisory Committees for Drake University, the University of Iowa, and the University of Illinois Colleges of Pharmacy.  He has been a member of Pharmacy Advisory Boards for Upjohn, Glaxo Wellcome, Merck, Hoechst Marion Rousell, and PCS.

Mr. Temple’s leadership has been recognized through receipt of several awards including APhA’s Hugo H. Schafer Award and the Gloria Neimeyer-Francke Leadership Mentor Award, the Medic Alert Outstanding Service Award, the University of Illinois’ College of Pharmacy Alumnus of the Year Award, the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy Alumnus of the Year Award, the University of Iowa Distinguished Alumni Award for Service, and Drake University’s Weaver Medal of Honor.