Past Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients


2013 Distinguished Alumni Recipient 
Nagesh Palepu, BS, PhD

Nagesh Palepu is a seasoned professional in pharmaceutical development, with a career spanning over 30 years. After obtaining his MSc in Chemistry from the esteemed India Institute of Technology (IIT), Bombay in 1972, he immigrated to the United States and began his career at Pfizer in pharmaceutical research and development. Dr. Palepu received his PhD in pharmaceutics from the University of Iowa in 1984.  After 25 years working in global pharmaceutical giants, he joined Geneva Pharmaceuticals as vice president of Research & Development. In 2006, Dr. Palepu founded SciDose LLC, a pharmaceutical consultancy and a research and development company in Hyderabad, India. The self-funded company focuses primarily on anti-cancer products, reformulating existing compounds in the short-term, and developing novel compounds in the long-term. Over his career, Dr. Palepu has published over 25 journal articles and has filed over 50 US patents as inventor/co-inventor.

2013 Distinguished Alumni Recipient
James A. Miller, BSPh, MBA

Jim Miller is a 1971 graduate of the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy and received his MBA degree from the University of Dubuque in 2004.  From 1973 to 1998 he was the owner of several retail and nursing home pharmacies and a home medical equipment company in Dubuque. Miller is president of Miller Purcell Inc., a pharmacy management company that manages seven pharmacies for Mercy Medical Center-Dubuque.  Miller was a co-founder of Outcomes Pharmaceutical Health Care and is a member of their Board of Directors.  He serves as an Associate Professor faculty member for the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, is Vice Chairperson of the Iowa Board of Pharmacy and is a board member of the Northeast Iowa Area Agency on Aging. A member and past president of the Iowa Pharmacist Association, he was the recipient of the Robert J Gibbs Distinguished Pharmacist Award in 2004. Jim resides in Dubuque with his wife of 45 years, Pam. They have 3 children.


2012 Distinguished Alumni Recipient 
David E. Nichols, PhD

David Nichols received his PhD from the University of Iowa in 1973, followed by a postdoctoral stint in Pharmacology. From his time as a graduate student, Nichols focused his research on the relationship between molecular structure and the action of substances that modify behavior. His research took him to Purdue University in 1974, where he remained until his retirement this year.

His research was funded by government agencies for more than three decades. Internationally recognized for his research on centrally active drugs, he studied the medicinal chemistry of dopamine D1 receptor agonists, and in 1991 he and his colleagues first showed that dopamine D1 agonists had remarkable efficacy in a primate model of Parkinson’s disease. He also is one of the world’s foremost authorities on psychedelic agents, and founded the Heffter Research Institute in 1993. He consults for the pharmaceutical industry and has served on numerous committees and government review groups.

Nichols was the Robert C. and Charlotte P. Anderson Distinguished Chair in Pharmacology and a Distinguished Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology at Purdue University. He was also an Adjunct Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology at the Indiana University School of Medicine.

2012 Distinguished Alumni Recipient
Susan C. Winckler, BS, JD

Susan C. Winckler, RPh, is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Food and Drug Law Institute (FDLI), a nonprofit organization committed to providing a marketplace for discussing global food and drug law issues through conferences, publications, and member interaction. She has built a career providing policy and public affairs expertise to various organizations including the Food and Drug Administration, Leavitt Partners, and APhA. Her experience and expertise in the practice areas of health care and food safety have elevated her reputation as a respected spokesperson and advocate.

She has been recognized as a Distinguished Young Alumna by the University of Iowa Foundation, a Woman of Distinction by Alpha Xi Delta Fraternity, and elected as a Distinguished Fellow in Public Policy to the National Academies of Practice,
Pharmacy Academy.

Winckler graduated with a BS in Pharmacy from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy in 1992. She also received a JD (Juris Doctor) in 2001 from the Georgetown University Law Center, magna cum laude.


2011 Distinguished Alumni Recipient
Jannet M. Carmichael, PharmD, BCPS, FCCP, FAPhA

Jannet M. Carmichael is a 1975 BSPh graduate from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. Dr. Carmichael is the VISN 21 Pharmacy Executive for the VA Sierra Pacific Network covering Northern Nevada, Northern California and Hawaii. She coordinates a Health Informatics and Health Analysis program, Pharmacoeconomic and Pharmacoepidemiology program, PBM performance metrics and therapeutic outcomes using a large Clinical Data Warehouse for the Veteran Integrated Service Network (VISN 21). Her clinical practice includes primary care and outcomes research. Dr. Carmichael coordinates pharmacy specialists, students and residents, as well as therapeutic research for VISN activities in the health system. Jan also serves as a Pharmacy Residency Program Director for a PGY2 program in Managed Care Systems & Pharmacoeconomics.

2011 Distinguished Alumni Recipient
Kerry "Gus" Hartauer, '84 BSPh, '89 PhD

Kerry “Gus” Hartauer is currently a Senior Director at Eli Lilly in the Lilly Research Laboratories. He received his B.S. in Pharmacy in 1984 from the University of Iowa and continued on at Iowa to earn his PhD in 1989 with Dr. Keith Guillory as his major advisor. He joined Eli Lilly in 1989 as a research scientist and spent the first 12 years of his career in Formulation and Process Development. He subsequently moved into technical management roles within Lilly Research Laboratories having been a Head of the Pharmacokinetics department, and leading divisions of Formulation and Analytical Development. During his 22 year career at Eli Lilly he has been an inventor on 8 issued U.S. Patents and several international patents. In his tenure at Lilly in the laboratory he led his formulation group in the development, scale-up and technology transfer of 4 unique, globally marketed drug products dosage forms that have been utilized in treating indications such as infectious diseases, osteoporosis, and depression. In his current role as Senior Director, CMC Project Management, he leads a group that provides CMC development leadership for all small molecules in the portfolio from candidate selection to launch.