Domer Distinguished Visiting Lecturer: Vibhuti Arya

Domer Distinguished Keynote Address

by Vibhuti Arya

"A Web of Lives"


Vibhuti Arya is a professor at St. John's University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and clinical advisor to the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. In her role, she works to integrate pharmacists into public health initiatives, particularly among high-risk, medically underserved areas in NYC, and advises on legislation pertinent to pharmacy practice and access to care. To date, Arya has been engaged with several efforts including public health detailing, correctional health services, expanding naloxone access through community pharmacies, syndromic surveillance, and emergency preparedness. She is also a member of the Health Department’s Institutional Review Board, serves as a Global Lead for the Equity and Equality Workforce Development Goal for the International Pharmacy Federation (FIP), and serves on the Board of Trustees for the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). Arya, an experienced speaker, has delivered talks at many venues and conferences, including most recently a podcast by the PQS Quality Corner Show.

Arya has served in various leadership roles across professional bodies throughout her career, including the APhA, American Public Health Association (APHA), American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, and Pharmacy Quality Alliance. She received the Sustained Contributor Award from the APHA Pharmacy Section, led a team to win the MIT Hacking Racism Challenge in Social Justice and Policy, and gave a TEDx talk on structural racism at Rutgers University. Arya engages her students and colleagues to examine programs and policies through the lens of equity, applying social justice principles and frameworks. She completed the Pharmaceutical Care Leadership Residency at the University of Minnesota, and her MPH from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.


Breakout Sessions

9:30 am
Breakout A: "Am I a Leader?"

Kathryn Smith, PharmD, Associate Professor of Instruction - Pharmacy Practice and Science, UI College of Pharmacy

Description: Join us as we reflect on the journey of becoming a leader and gain insights into your unique 
potential as emerging leaders in the profession of pharmacy.

9:30 am
Breakout B: "Advocacy Matters"

Lindsey Ludwig, BSPh, Executive Director, Community Pharmacy Enhanced Services Network (CPESN)-Iowa

A unified voice for the pharmacy profession is more critical than ever with the changing health care landscape. Come to this session to learn many ways to build support for pharmacy!

10:30 am
Breakout C: "Belonging Throughout Your Career Labyrinth" Panel Discussion

Emmeline Paintsil, PharmD, Director of Professional Affairs, Iowa Pharmacy Association

Julie Cunningham, '90 BSPh, PharmD, Associate Chief Pharmacy Officer, Mayo Clinic

Taylor Reed, PharmD, '17 R, Executive Director, Charitable Pharmacy of Central Ohio

CoraLynn Trewet, MS, PharmD, Regional Medical Director-Nephrology, Amgen

In this session, we'll delve into strategies for navigating unexpected detours in your career plans. How can you realign your path and remain engaged in the pharmacy profession?

10:30 am
Breakout D: "When to Say Yes and How to Negotiate What You Want"

Michele Williams, MA, PhD, Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow in Entrepreneurship, Management and Entrepreneurship and Associate Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship, University of Iowa

Do you find it hard to turn down offers of involvement? Do colleagues take advantage of your help and generosity? Find out how to say yes (or no), be mindful of your time, and maintain relationships.

Symposium Schedule

  • 7:30 am     Breakfast/Headshots
  • 8:00 am     Welcome
  • 8:15 am     Keynote Speaker:  Vibhuti Arya
  • 9:30 am     A-B Breakout Sessions
  • 10:30 am   C-D Breakout Sessions
  • 11:30 am   Closing Session
  • 12:30 pm   Lunch/Networking


Students at Zada
Mac Townsend and Faith P at Zada
Emmeline Paintsil and Bri Bakken at Zada

Zada Cooper Student Leadership Award

The Zada Cooper Student Leadership Award honors student leaders who have contributed significantly, through their leadership, to the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy during their time as a Doctor of Pharmacy student or PhD student.  Students are not recognized solely based on an office or position held but for the breadth and depth of their leadership. Congratulations to the following Zada Cooper Leaders!



  • Valeria Cota, PhD student
  • Emily Gajda, '23 PharmD
  • Emily Paulus, '23 PharmD
  • Sanjib Saha, '23 PhD


  • Guadalupe Chavez, '21 PharmD
  • Logan Murry, '17 PharmD, '22 PhD
  • Bibiana Ruiz, '21 PharmD


  • Ahamed Ahamed, '19 PharmD
  • Terra Acri, '19 PhD
  • Meredith Lumberg, '21 PharmD


  • Anh-Vu Do, '18 PhD
  • Mohammed Fredericks, '20 PharmD
  • Quinn Li, '18 PhD
  • Autumn Petersen, '19 PharmD

About the Symposium

Leadership is very much a part of Iowa's healthcare history. Dating back to the early days of pharmacy education, the University of Iowa cultivated pioneers. One of those remarkable leaders was Zada Mary Cooper (1875–1961), who graduated from the UI College of Pharmacy in 1897, and continued as a faculty member until retiring in 1942.

A master teacher, mentor, and innovator, Cooper was one of the founders of the Women’s Section of the American Pharmacists Association, founder of Kappa Epsilon Fraternity and the Rho Chi Society, and secretary of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy from 1922 to 1942. She advocated for women in pharmacy, for patients, and to strengthen standards in pharmacy education.

The Zada Cooper Legacy of Leadership strives to:

  • Inspire others to engage and model inclusive leadership;
  • Encourage all healthcare providers to become involved in their profession and community;
  • Increase awareness of current and emerging leadership challenges;
  • Facilitate and promote connections – students, residents, and practitioners to engage in informal conversation with leaders;
  • Inspire participants to reach out to become compassionate and inclusive leaders; 
  • Introduce varying leadership pathways and thoughts on leadership;
  • Collaborate and build diverse networks.

The College of Pharmacy is grateful to Floyd and Judith Domer, who established the Domer Distinguished Visiting Lectureship in 2019 to support the College's mission by inviting leading experts to speak on specialties, including pharmacy policy, pharmaceutical discovery, leadership development, and entrepreneurship.



Nancy AlvarezBrianne Bakken
Beth BirdKelly Brock
Gretchen BrummelJannet Carmichael
Melissa CorriganJulie Cunningham
Lisa GersemaPhil Greazel
Metta Lou HendersonBarbara Kelley
Holly LauerChelsea McIntire
Emmeline PaintsilKayla Sanders
Kathryn SmithJenelle Sobotka
Susan VosEmily Weyenberg
Michele WilliamsSusan Winckler


Leadership happens at every level. That was the overarching theme at the 2023 Zada Cooper Leadership Symposium, held at and put on by the University of Iowa (UI) College of Pharmacy. More than 100 students, faculty, alumni, and others attended the professional-development event to network and learn from nine different speakers.

Read more: