The Student Pharmacist ExCELS (Excellence in Community Engagement, Leadership, Service) Award is created to recognize excellence in student pharmacist engagement with the community through leadership and service. The award will use a two-tiered structure to recognize student achievement:

Pharmacy Leaders List

Students are required to document at least 50 hours of community engagement, professional service, or professional leadership during one academic year in order to receive recognition on the Dean’s Pharmacy Leaders list. Academic year is defined as:

  • P1 year: Beginning of fall semester to end of spring semester
    • Report to be run June 1
  • P2 and P3 Year: Beginning of summer semester to the end of spring semester
    • Report to be run June 1
  • P4 year: Beginning of summer semester to Feb 1 of P4 year
    • Report to be run April 1

Graduation Recognition

Students are required to demonstrate sustained excellence and document at least 150 hours in community engagement, professional service, and/or professional leadership from fall of P1 through Feb 1 of P4 year in order to wear gold cords at graduation and receive recognition at the graduation dinner. Report to be run April 1.

ExCELS 2022-2023 Community Engagement Recipients

Victoria L Adrian

Savannah R Anderson

Ali J Barakat

Shelbie Brotherson

Sophia C Brown

Kevin Dong

Yue Dong

Jack H Dykema

Kelsey Fausel

Emily A Gilbertson

Zach S Glanz

Jill Guetersloh

Emilie Heggen

Spencer R Heggen

MaKayla K Hoing

Kylie Juenger

Kayli Kruser

Cristina R Markham

Michelle A Moon

Mark L Nagel

Kendal E Newman

Zach Nunemaker

Minh Pham

Ryann Powell

Caitlin Rohrbaugh

Sydney M Ross

Gracie K Schnell

Trey M Stoll

Vanessa J Van Holland

Sidney A Vancil

Kim T Vo

Eric J Weetman

Alicia Baccam

Samson Bishop

Ruth Black

Ashley Christenson

Abigail Crowner

Christina Gassman

Lauren Gravert

Lauryn Hanson

Courtney Howe

Charles Iles

Kali Jensen

Jenna Kane

McKayla Karr

Kayla Kinney

Olivia Kulaszewicz

Kristi Lee

Becca Manternach

Maleena Moretti

Janki Patel

Stephen Presti

Davis Rieckenberg

Courtney Schenkelberg

Meghan Schick

Rebecca Scribano

Taylor Streck

Lucy Sundrup

Kisara Thompson

Kelly Vu

Emily Weyenberg

Kaley Wolff

Xiaoxuan Xu

Hannah Barmore

Sarah Canfield

Jared Clement

Stephanie Ekufu

Allison Gieswein

Brandon Gillip

Isabelle Johnson

Tobey Klungseth

Leslie Lai

Nina Lanciloti

Eesha Lawande

Neanagit Malow

Darlyn Mendoza

Phoebe Moore

Nick Nielsen

Ochain Okey

Sarah Schade

Megan Schreur

Madeline Sherwood

Mahaa Siddiqi

Sydney Soeder

Ellie Twedt

Carley Uhl

Hours Documentation

Student pharmacist participation in community engagement, professional service, and professional leadership activities will be documented through use of the Case Logs feature of eValue. These entries will be evaluated on an ongoing basis.

Award Criteria

  • Student pharmacist must be in good academic standing.
  • Only hours documented in the eValue Case Logs will be considered.
  • Participation hours will be documented in one of the two following categories:
    • Hours which fulfill Professional Development course requirements.
    • All other documented community service activity:
      • Community service that may or may not be pharmacy related (Habitat for Humanity, Ronald McDonald House, Dance Marathon, etc.)