About the Award

The Honorary Alumni Award annually honors friends of the College for their personal contribution toward pharmacy achievement, leadership and service to the profession, or exhibits exceptional service to the College. These individuals inspire our students and serve as role models. 

Nominees include individuals who have made contributions to the theory and practice of pharmacy, demonstrated major accomplishments in a professional pharmacy practice or in pharmaceutical research and development. Recipients also include those who have managed or directed an organization that has made noteworthy national or international contributions to the pharmacy profession, in addition to truly exceptional service to their community, the College, the profession, or the public.

To nominate an individual for this award, please follow this link.

2021 Honorary Alumni Award Recipients

Barb Kelley headshot (WC crop) CROPPED.jpg

Barbara Kelley

Barbara Kelley is the director of External Relations at the UI College of Pharmacy, serving in this capacity since 2011. Prior to this time, she worked in various roles at the College, including director of Strategic Communications, associate director of External Relations, and associate director of Information Technology. Kelley leads all external communications, strategizes message development, collaborates in promoting the College to stakeholders and potential recruits, and directs all brand integration.

Kelley received a Bachelor of Business Administration in 1980 from the University of Iowa, and in 1989 earned a Bachelor of Arts in Secondary Education from Tarkio College, Tarkio, Missouri. She later earned a Master of Business Administration from the UI Tippie College of Business in 2016. She has two daughters, Courtney Kelley of Chicago, Illinois, and Katelyn Kelley, of Portland, Oregon.

Yorty headshot.png

Edward Yorty

Edward Yorty is the chief executive officer and president of Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Company and its subsidiaries. He was elected to the company's Board of Directors in 2011 and serves as chair of the Executive and Corporate Planning committees. Prior to joining Pharmacists Mutual in 2011, Yorty spent 15 years working for mutual insurance companies. During his tenure at Pharmacists Mutual, he has led the insurer on its final push to provide coverage to pharmacists in all 50 states plus Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia.

Yorty is a graduate of Northeastern University and Pennsylvania State University where he earned a Master of Science in Finance and a Bachelor of Science degree in meteorology, respectively. He is also a fellow of the Casualty Actuarial Society, a fellow of the Society of Actuaries, and a member of the American Academy of Actuaries.

Past Honorary Alumni Award Recipients

2019 Honorary Alumni Award Recipient

Leslie Williams, BSN, MBA

2018 Honorary Alumni Award Recipients

Kate Gainer, PharmD
Lisa Ploehn, PharmD

2017 Honorary Alumni Award Recipients

Mundi McCarty, BS
CoraLynn Trewet, PharmD

2016 Honorary Alumni Award Recipient

Bernard A. Sorofman, PhD, FAPhA

2015 Honorary Alumni Award Recipient

George Hiller, ’80 BBA, ’82 MBA

2014 Honorary Alumni Award Recipients

Robert Greenwood, PharmD
James Otterbeck, BBA, MBA