Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Michelle Fravel, ’06 PharmD, was selected as the recipient of the 2016 College of Pharmacy Award for Teaching Excellence. Fravel is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy with primary teaching roles in Therapeutics, Foundations of Pharmacy Practice and the Pharmacy Practice Lab series. After earning her Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, she completed a two-year Specialized Ambulatory Care Residency at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.

She is also a Clinical Pharmacist in the Internal Medicine Renal/Hypertension Clinic and the Anticoagulation Case Management Service at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. She serves as a preceptor to fourth year pharmacy students and pharmacy residents in both of these clinical settings.

In the fall of 2015, the UI College of Pharmacy launched a new curriculum; one that took several years to develop and refine. Fravel played a key role as the chair of the curriculum committee, and was largely responsible for the design, coordination and implementation of this new curriculum, the Learning and Living Curriculum.

The College of Pharmacy Award for Teaching Excellence is a peer-reviewed nomination process for recognizing outstanding faculty. Clinical-track faculty, tenure-track faculty, lecturers, visiting faculty and adjunct faculty are eligible for consideration through self-nomination or nomination by colleagues.

The College of Pharmacy Academic Performance/Awards and Recognition Committee follows the UI President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence model for content of candidate support materials. This ensures sufficient information to select awardees and to employ uniform, university-wide standards in choosing recipients.

Class Teachers of the Year

In addition to the College of Pharmacy Award for Teaching Excellence, each PharmD class also selects a Teacher of the Year. This year’s recipients are;

Class of 2019 Teacher of the Year: Jeffrey Reist, ’82 BSPh, PharmD

Class of 2018 Teacher of the Year: Deanna McDanel, ’01 PharmD

Class of 2017 Teacher of the Year, Brett Heintz, PharmD

Preceptor Excellence Awards

As teachers, experts, specialists, and mentors, preceptors provide learning experiences outside the standard classroom. Preceptors allow student pharmacists a glimpse into the daily life of a health care provider. They assist students in the application of their knowledge and skills in direct patient care and other practice settings. Each year, the college recognizes preceptors with excellence awards in three categories.

Preceptor Excellence Award, Faculty: VA Medical Center Acute Care

Shannon Heintz, PharmD

Preceptor Excellence Award, Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience: UIHC Surgery

David Thomsen, ’91 BSPh, Megan Alderton, PharmD, Emily Augustine, PharmD, and Kathryn Hensley, ’14 PharmD

Preceptor Excellence Award, Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experience: Mercy Dubuque

Kate Kurt, PharmD, Jared Ehtessabian, ’11 PharmD, Nicole Goodall, ’12 PharmD, Jennifer Noel, PharmD, Amanda Powers, ’02 PharmD, Kelly Ungs, ’10 PharmD, Kay Zepeski, ’81 BSPh, Abbey Richman, '11 PharmD, and Pete Maier, BSPh