College Achieves Inaugural Recognition
Friday, June 7, 2024

The University of Iowa (UI) College of Pharmacy has been selected as an inaugural Academia-Community Transformation (ACT) Community Pharmacy Center of Excellence. This acknowledgment celebrates the commitment to advancing community pharmacy through teaching, service, scholarship, leadership, and partnership. 

Together with the first cohort of Centers of Excellence, the College will proudly serve as ambassadors for pharmacy education in convenings with pharmacy and healthcare leaders and will unite to mobilize and amplify community pharmacy practice transformation efforts.  

Clinical Associate Professor Stevie Veach is the ACT faculty champion.  Additional faculty on the team and involved in community pharmacy include Deborah K. Veale Professor in Health-Care Policy William Doucette, Clinical Assistant Professor Laura Knockel, Clinical Professor Jay Currie, Associate Professor Matthew Witry, Associate Professor Julie Urmie,  Professor Linnea Polgreen, and Patrick E. Keefe Professor in Pharmacy Korey Kennelty

Meet the 2024 ACT Centers of Excellence

The College will be formally honored at the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) annual meeting, Pharmacy Education 2024, in Boston, on Tuesday, July 23, during the session “AACP Transformation Center: Accelerating Community-based Pharmacy Practice Transformation.”