Monday, May 14, 2012

On May 9 and 10, the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy celebrated the graduating class of 2012, including Robert Osterhaus (1952 BSPh), one of the University’s honorary doctorate recipients.

The celebration began with the annual senior dinner, held on Wednesday, May 9, at the Marriott Hotel in Coralville. The class of 2012 and their families heard from Dean Donald Letendre and Matthew Osterhaus, a 1980 graduate from the college, and Robert’s son.  Several members of the senior class were also presented awards for outstanding scholarship and leadership. (See the full list of award winners.)

Commencement was held on Thursday, May 10. The graduating class, their families and friends, and college faculty and staff witnessed University of Iowa President Sally Mason, Associate Provost  John Keller, and Dean Donald Letendre present Robert Osterhaus with the honorary Doctor of Science degree.  Dr. Jane Osterhaus (1981 BSPh) and daughter of Robert Osterhaus, presented the commencement address, urging the class of 2012 to remember gratitude in all aspects of their career and life.

By the end of the ceremony, 112 new doctors of pharmacy were presented with their hoods - some by family members in the profession - and the college had presented its first-ever honorary doctorate.

For more information on Robert Osterhaus, click here.