Tuesday, May 1, 2012

The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Board of Directors accepted a recommendation from the organization’s Commission on Credentialing to reaccredit the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy’s postgraduate year one (PGY1) residency program for a six year term, through 2018.

This accomplishment is the culmination of an examination by the ASHP Commission on Credentialing that was held in October 2011. The PGY1 residency program encompasses sites across the state.

  • Hy-Vee Drugstore, Iowa City, Iowa
     Thane Kading, B.S. Pharm, Site Coordinator
    Additional Clinical Faculty: Natalie Hunter, PharmD, Kristin Williams, PharmD, Tracy LeMonds, PharmD, Stacy Sommers, PharmD
  • CareProLiberty Pharmacy, North Liberty, Iowa with A Avenue Pharmacy, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Stevie Veach, PharmD, Site Coordinator
    Additional Clinical Faculty: Rani Shen, PharmD, Marla Tonn, BS Pharm, Kyra Corbett, PharmD, Kim Van Schepen, PharmD, Jacquie Fitzgerald, PharmD, Gary Albers, BS Pharm, CEO.
  • Main at Locust Pharmacy Clinic and Medical Supplies, Davenport, Iowa
    Kara Carruthers, PharmD, Site Coordinator
    Additional Clinical Faculty: Lisa C. Ploehn, PharmD, Anh Nguyen, PharmD, Kaye Wright, B.S., Lisa Garner, PharmD
  • Mercy Family Pharmacy, Dubuque, Iowa
    Heather Rickertsen, PharmD, and Jessica Smith, PharmD, MPH, Site Coordinators
    Additional Clinical Faculty:   Josh Feldmann, PharmD, James A. Miller, BS Pharm, MBA, Susan Purcell, BS Pharm, Melissa Ernzen, PharmD, Chris Parker, PharmD
  • Osterhaus Pharmacy, Maquoketa, Iowa
    Matthew Osterhaus, BS Pharm, Site Coordinator
    Additional Clinical Faculty: Marilyn Osterhaus, BS Pharm, Tammy Bullock, PharmD, Connie Connelly, BS Pharm, Angie Spannagel, PharmD, Dale Yoder, BS Pharm, Robert Osterhaus, BS Pharm
  • Shepley Pharmacy, Mount Vernon, Iowa
    Alan M. Shepley, BS Pharm, Site Coordinator
    Additional Clinical Faculty: Amy Jackson, PharmD, Krista Ringwald, PharmD, Michael Ernst, PharmD 
  • Towncrest Pharmacy, Iowa City, Iowa
    Marra Burr, PharmD, Site Coordinator
    Additional Clinical Faculty: Randy McDonough, PharmD, M.S., Mike Deninger, BS, PhD, Bernie Cremers, BS Pharm, Denise Prybil, BS Pharm

Dr. Jay Currie, Director of the PGY1 Community Pharmacy Residency Program, congratulated the team involved in the program, saying, “We all work together to make this a great program, but at the end of the day it is about what is happening at your sites.  That is where the heart of the residency resides.”