Monday, September 16, 2013

Michelle Fravel, PharmD, BCPS, has always been drawn to healthcare professions. While she was in high school, she had the opportunity to job shadow a pharmacist, and was hooked. When she came to the University of Iowa to pursue her education, she made plans to focus her natural aptitude for math and science and passion for healthcare on a degree in pharmacy.

Perhaps it’s this passion for the profession that makes Fravel such a favorite among her students, who selected her as the 2012-2013 College of Pharmacy Teacher of the Year. As one of her students said, “I believe she truly encompasses what it means to be a great professor. She likes what she does, she is organized and clear with her expectations for students, and she ensures that we can apply what we learn in the classroom to real life situations.”

Dr. Fravel is an assistant professor (clinical) at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy with primary teaching roles in therapeutics and the pharmacy practice lab series. She received her PharmD from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy in 2006 and completed a two‐year Specialized Ambulatory Care Residency at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics in 2008. She is also a clinical pharmacist in the Internal Medicine Renal/Hypertension Clinic and the Anticoagulation Case Management Service at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. She serves as a preceptor to fourth-year pharmacy students and pharmacy residents in both of these clinical settings.

“I am really energized by my interactions with students. It is incredibly fulfilling to work closely with students as they progress through their first three years in the classroom and then to have the opportunity to work with them in practice during their fourth year…to be able to watch them put their knowledge and skills to use to help patients. I really enjoy being a part of the whole process.

Additionally, the college recently announced the following class-based teachers of the year, and recipients of the Preceptor Excellence Awards.

Teachers of the Year

  • Michelle Fravel, PharmD, BCPS, Collegiate Teacher of the Year
  • Jill Fowler, PharmD, MSPhr, BCPP, P3 Teacher of the Year
  • Jeffrey C. Reist BS, PharmD, BCPS, P2 Teacher of the Year
  • Jennifer Fiegel, PhD, P1 Teacher of the Year

Preceptor Excellence Awards

  • Heather Bream-Rouwenhorst, UIHC Cardiology/Pulmonary Care, faculty category
  • Brett Faine, UIHC Emergency Treatment Center, APPE category
  • Luke Bartlett, Walgreens #05077 Pharmacy, IPPE category