Monday, June 30, 2014

The Iowa Pharmacy Association 2014 Annual Meeting was held June 13-14 in Altoona. Pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and student pharmacists gathered to discuss policy, hear presentations, and attend the annual banquet and awards program.

The meeting began on Friday morning with a House of Delegates session, featuring a welcome by Doug Hoey and a policy debate led by Speaker of the House Randy McDonough (’87 PharmD). The day continued with speakers and poster presentations

On Friday night, the President’s Reception and Annual Banquet was held. President John Swegle (’96 PharmD; associate professor (clinical)) was sworn in as the 2014-2015 IPA board president at the banquet, where he delivered the presidential address.

On Saturday, Connie Connolly (’92 BSPh) was installed as the 2014-2015 Speaker of the House at the second House of Delegates session.

Many University of Iowa College of Pharmacy alumni and faculty were recognized during the awards banquet. Those recognized include:

Bowl of Hygeia: Craig Clark (’78 BSPh)

Craig Clark, RPh, is the owner of Clark’s Pharmacy in Cedar Rapids. He obtained his bachelor’s in pharmacy from the University of Iowa in 1978. The Bowl of Hygeia Award was presented to Craig for his contributions to a strong, healthy community through service and personal leadership.

Robert G. Gibbs Distinguished Pharmacist Award: Al Shepley  (’71 BSPh)

Al Shepley, RPh, is the owner of Shepley Pharmacy in Mount Vernon. He is past president and treasurer of IPA and a member of national associations including APhA, NCPA, ASCP and NABP. Al has previously received the Bowl of Hygeia Award, the Innovative Pharmacy Practice Research Award, and the University of Iowa Preceptor of the Year Award. The Distinguished Pharmacist Award, the highest recognition provided to a pharmacist by the IPA, was presented to him as he officially begins his retirement in 2014.

Distinguished Young Pharmacist: Stevie Veach (’06 PharmD; assistant professor (clinical))

Dr. Stevie Veach, PharmD, BCACP, has been a clinical pharmacist at CarePro Liberty Pharmacy in North Liberty, IA since 2007. In 2012, Dr. Veach joined the faculty at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy as an assistant professor (clinical) and director of the PGY1 Community Pharmacy Residency Program. The Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year Award, a national awards program sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual, was presented to her for her involvement and dedication to the practice of pharmacy.

Excellence in Innovation: Thane Kading (’95 BSPh)

Thane Kading, RPh, CDE, has been active in pharmacy practice for almost two decades. She received her BSPh from the University of Iowa in 1995 and worked as a hospital clinical pharmacist in Illinois for two years before joining the Hy-Vee team in 1997. In 1999, she started Hy-Vee’s first immunizing pharmacy. In 2005, she became the first residency coordinator for Hy-Vee. The Excellence in Innovation Award recognized Thane for demonstrating significant innovation in her practice.

Health-System Pharmacist of the Year: John Hamiel (’97 PharmD)

Dr. John Hamiel, PharmD, currently serves as the regional director of pharmacy for Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare-Iowa. John is an active member of IPA, ASHP, ACCP, and APhA. He was awarded the University of Iowa Hospital Preceptor of the Year Award in 2003. He has helped to develop ambulatory care sites, antibiotic stewardship committees, and a strong APPE/IPPE student experiential site. John’s patient-centered approach and willingness to share best practices has led him to receive the Health-Systems Pharmacist of the Year Award, a national awards program that is presented to a health-system pharmacist who contributes service to hospital pharmacy programs and the community.

Patient Care Partner Award: Rick Dobyns (clinical professor, UI Carver College of Medicine)

Dr. Richard C. Dobyns, MD, MSPM, received his baccalaureate degree at Saint Olaf College and completed medical school at the University of Minnesota. He went on to residency training in family medicine at the University of Iowa. He then entered private practice in Minnesota for two years before returning to the University of Iowa as a faculty member. Nominated by several pharmacist colleagues, one states, “Dr. Dobyns is the most team-oriented physician I have ever worked with in my 30 years as a pharmacist. His support of the team concept, and the unique role for the pharmacists, is a model of practice to improve patient care in many settings.”

IPA Appreciation Award: Bill Doucette (professor and division head, Health Services Research)

Dr. William Doucette, PhD, RPh, is professor and head of the Division of Health Services Research, where he holds the Deborah K. Veale Professorship in Healthcare Policy. The Iowa Pharmacy Association Appreciation Award was created in 1988 to recognize individuals and corporations for their support of organized pharmacy in the state of Iowa. Bill’s nominator stated, “Bill’s research and expertise are recognized across the country, and the profession in Iowa has been truly fortunate to partner with Bill on countless projects and initiatives.”

GenerationRx Award: Brett Barker (’08 PharmD)

Dr. Brett Barker, PharmD, is the Vice President of Operations for NuCara Management Group. Brett previously managed the NuCara Pharmacy in Nevada, and also served as nucara’s director of clinical services. He currently serves on the IPA Legislative Advisory Committee, Telepharmacy Joint Task Force, and is vice chair of the Iowa Pharmacy Political Action Committee Advisory Committee. The GenerationRx Award, a national awards program sponsored by Cardinal Health, recognizes a pharmacist who has demonstrated excellence in community-based prescription drug abuse prevention. Brett has coordinated numerous community medication take-back events and leads initiatives for proper medication disposal in his community.

Karbeling Leadership Award: Matthew Farley (’15 PharmD Candidate)

Matthew completed his bachelor’s degree at the University of Northern Iowa before pursuing his PharmD at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. Matt has served as president of the student body, been active on the executive council of graduate and professional students, and acted as the student liaison from Iowa on the IPA board of trustees. The Karbeling Leadership Award is presented to one P3 student from each of the state’s colleges of pharmacy.

Best Poster Award: Rachel Smith (’13 PharmD), “Evaluation of Community Pharmacist-Managed Transitions of Care on Hospital Readmission Rates”

Congratulations to all 50-Year Pharmacists:

Jean Abrahamson (’63 BSPh)
John Capper (’63 BSPh)
Bernard Cremers (’64 BSPh)
Thomas Lehman (’63 BSPh)
Dennis Killion (’63 BSPh)
John Susich (’63 BSPh)