Saturday, August 1, 2015

Matthew Osterhaus is the owner of Osterhaus Pharmacy Inc., and a community consultant pharmacist specializing in pharmaceutical care services, hospice, and home medical equipment. He also focuses on long-term care, quality assurance, consulting, and dispensing services to patients in residential and nursing facilities and facilities for those with intellectual disabilities. He offers consultant services in pharmacy practice, residency education, and regulatory/legal affairs.

In addition to aiding as Iowa Pharmacy Association president from 2004-2005 and chairman of the board from 2005-2006, Osterhaus also served on the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) House of Delegates and as president of the Dubuque Area Pharmacists Association in 1999. Most recently, he was elected as the 2014-2015 President of APhA.

Osterhaus was a recipient of the Iowa Pharmacists Association/Marion Distinguished Young Pharmacist in 1989 and went on to become University of Iowa College of Pharmacy Preceptor of the Year in 1998. He has also been given the State of Iowa Governors Volunteer Award (1988), the Iowa Pharmacist Association Appreciation Award (1995), the APhA-APPM Distinguished Achievement Award in Community (2005), and the APhA Good Government Award (2006).

He received his BSPh from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy in 1980, during which time he held specialty clerkships in neurology and psychiatry. In 1993, he completed the APhA Community Pharmacy Management Program, and in 1995 he received generalist training in pharmaceutical care and disease state management training in asthma, diabetes, hypertension, and ischemic heart disease from the Iowa Center for Pharmaceutical Care.

Osterhaus is married to Marilyn Slee Osterhaus. He is the father of Andy, Maria, Jack, and Laura and grandfather of Pieta, Owen, and Gibson.