Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Paul Abramowitz, PharmD, is the Chief Executive Officer for the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).

Prior to joining ASHP, Abramowitz worked in hospitals and health systems for 34 years, most recently as Associate Hospital Director for Professional Services and Chief Pharmacy Officer at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (UIHC). He also served as Professor and Assistant Dean at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. He was previously the Director of Pharmacy and a faculty member at the Medical College of Virginia Hospitals and the University of Minnesota Hospitals and Clinics.

Abramowitz has actively combined practice, teaching, and research throughout his career. He has lectured and published extensively. His work focuses on how quality pharmaceutical care can improve outcomes of care and reduce costs and adverse drug events. It also focuses on the development of new care models and the redesign of pharmacy services.

In addition to serving as treasurer of ASHP from 2007-10 and as ASHP president in 1993-94, Abramowitz also chaired the Iowa Board of Pharmacy, the Board of Directors of the Iowa Statewide Poison Control Center, and the UIHC Pharmacy Council.

Abramowitz received the John W. Webb Lecture Award in 2000 and the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award — health-system pharmacy’s highest honor — in 2009. In 1990, he received the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Toledo College of Pharmacy. In 2010, he received the Alumni Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award from the  University of Michigan College of Pharmacy. Most recently, he was awarded the 2012 Honorary Alumni Award from the UI College of Pharmacy.

Abramowitz received a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from the University of Toledo, a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Michigan and completed his residency at the University of Michigan Medical Center. He is a past member of the college’s Executive Leadership Board.