Tuesday, April 19, 2016

The University of Iowa’s Health Sciences Research Week was held April 12-14, 2016, with the theme "Molecular Machines in Human Disease." Participants hailed from the College of Pharmacy, Carver College of Medicine, Institute for Clinical and Translational Science, and VA Health System.

The College of Pharmacy was well represented at the event with 53 presenting posters and several receiving awards. Specifically, the following College of Pharmacy PharmD students, PhD students, residents, fellows, and faculty received awards:

College of Pharmacy Graduate and Professional Student Category Outstanding Poster Presentation:

Megan Kelchen (PTT)
Co-authors: Heather Ciliberto and Nicole Brogden 
Mentor: Nicole Brogden
“In vitro evaluation of beta-blocker skin concentrations following microneedle pretreatment for the treatment of infantile hemangiomas”

Victoria Parker (MNPC)
Co-authors: Edwin Squirewell, Hans-Joachim Lehmler, Larry W Robertson, Aloysius Klingelhutz and Michael Duffel 
Mentor: Michael Duffel
“Inhibition of Steroid Hormone Sulfation by Metabolites of Commonly Occurring Airborne Polychlorinated Biphenyls and its Potential for Altering Human Adipocyte Differentiation”

College of Pharmacy Postdocs, Residents, and Fellows Category Outstanding Poster Presentation:

Lucas Watson (PPS)
Co-authors: Tami Argo, Bruce Alexander, Jason Egge and Brian Lund 
Mentor: Tami Argo
“Persistence of Prazosin Therapy in Veterans with Posttraumatic Stress Disorder”

Hayley Meyer (PPS)
Co-authors: Daniel Livorsi, Brett Heintz, Brian Lund, Jason Egge and Bruce Alexander 
Mentor: Brett Heintz
“Identifying Opportunities to Improve Guideline-Concordant Antibiotic Prescribing in Veterans with Acute Respiratory Infections or Cystitis in the Outpatient Setting

Institute for Clinical and Translational Science Student Category Outstanding Poster Presentation:

Behnoush Khorsand Sourkohi (PTT)
Mentor: Ali Salem
“Implantable Poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) Loaded with N-Acetylcysteine Prevents Severe Post-Traumatic Osteoarthritis”

Carver College of Medicine Cover Art Contest in Specific Humor Category:

Behnoush Khorsand-Sourkohi (PTT)
Rasheid Smith (PTT)

A list of all poster presenters can be found on the Health Sciences Research Week website.