Tuesday, October 18, 2016

UI College of Pharmacy students and alumni attended the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Annual Meeting Oct. 15-19 in New Orleans.


The college’s NCPA student chapter was voted to receive the NCPA Foundation’s National Chapter of the Year Award. Jenna Brandhorst, a third-year Doctor of Pharmacy student, was recognized individually as an NCPA Outstanding Student Chapter Member of the Year after being nominated by her peers and faculty.


Adjunct Professor Randy McDonough, '00 PharmD, '97 MS, '87 BSPh, and co-owner of Towncrest Pharmacy, was named the NCPA 2016 Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year. This award recognizes an independent pharmacist for exemplary leadership and commitment to independent pharmacy and to their community. "He is a huge proponent of ensuring that the transformation in the delivery of health care makes room for pharmacies in those efforts to help patients maximize their health outcomes and ultimately reduce costs. He is a visionary who practices what he preaches," said NCPA President Brad Arthur.


The National Community Pharmacists Association, founded in 1898, represents America’s community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 22,000 pharmacies. The nation’s community pharmacies, pharmacy franchises, and regional chains dispense nearly half of the nation’s retail prescription medications.