Thursday, June 11, 2020

The Zada Cooper Leadership Committee proudly presents the 2019-2020 recipients of the Zada Cooper Student Leadership Award. Three students received this honor for embodying the leadership qualities of Zada Cooper, a UI College of Pharmacy student and faculty member in the late 1800s and early 1900s. The nominees for the leadership award have made meaningful contributions to students and the surrounding communities through service and provided exemplary leadership and commitment to an organization. Nominees have mentored future leaders, inspired and motivated others to act through service, and demonstrated initiative, creativity, and perseverance to challenge the present and enrich the future. Congratulations to the following leaders!


Logan Murry

Logan Murry is a PhD candidate in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science. Murry embodies the leadership award criteria by constantly giving support to his fellow graduate students. Countless times he has helped international students connect and communicate with others, especially those who are away from their homes and families. Murry also provides leadership and service in the Doctor of Pharmacy program on research projects. At the national level, he has served on the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Postgraduate Committee, reviewing abstracts. He assisted the local American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists in establishing a Medicare Part D plan education service. Murry has also collaborated with faculty members and practitioners and published a number of research papers. “Logan consistently goes above and beyond with his leadership and service,” said Julie Urmie, associate professor, and Murry’s faculty advisor.







Guadalupe (‘Lupe’) Chavez is a third-year Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) student. Chavez has been involved in and held leadership positions in numerous student organizations at the College of Pharmacy, including the American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Students Pharmacists, Student National Pharmaceutical Association, Healthcare Business Leadership Program and Toastmasters Club. In 2018, Lupe was named the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) Iowa Young Adult of the Year Award. “I have observed students coming to Lupe for mentoring and advice about their pharmacy career. One student mentioned how Lupe had motivated him to become more involved in school organizations after watching her activities around the college,” stated Rachel Finkelstein, pharmacy specialist, Centralized Healthcare Solutions. Mohammed Fredericks, a fellow student, and nominator, stated, “Lupe is a dynamic leader; she takes what she learns from one leadership role and applies it to another.”





Bibiana (‘Bee’) Ruiz is a third-year Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) student. Ruiz has held leadership roles in Phi Delta Chi and the Healthcare Leadership Program, and has been involved in the American Pharmacists Association and a member of Phi Lambda Sigma. She is also enrolled in the Pain and Palliative Care Certificate Program. Associate Professor Kashelle Lockman commented, “In the Palliative Care Certificate Program, Bee identified a gap in care and opportunity to improve naloxone access. She collaborated with other interested students to create a high-quality educational tool about naloxone.” “Bee is an exceptional leader that leads with empathy, assertiveness, and a collaborative spirit and has previously been recognized for her leadership by being chosen for the Bill Burke Student Pharmacist Leadership Conference and membership in Phi Lambda Sigma,” stated nominator Rachel Whitsitt, Doctor of Pharmacy student.