July 23, 2014

Susan S. Vos, PharmD, BCPS, clinical associate professor and director of the Professional Experience Program, was recognized as the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy Collegiate Teacher of the Year for the 2013-2014 academic year.

After graduating from the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy in 2003, Dr. Vos completed a Pharmacy Practice Residency in Memphis, Tenn. and a Pediatric Specialty Residency in Charleston, S.C. before joining the faculty at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.

“I was inspired to teach because of the wonderful faculty at the University of Tennessee and the Pediatric Residency Preceptors at the Medical University of South Carolina,” Dr. Vos said. “Seeing faculty run around the classroom to get students’ attention, witnessing the devotion of the preceptors who stayed after hours at the hospital because a patient needed them, or hearing the personal stories of patients from faculty who knew them well – these are some of the fond memories that made it easy to decide to become a faculty member.”

Dr. Vos has held leadership roles with the American Pharmacists Association, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, the Iowa Pharmacy Association, as well as being a member of the Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group and maintaining board certification in pharmacotherapy. As the APhA-ASP chapter advisor, she works hands-on to mentor students and foster leadership skills. “The ability to leave a legacy to student pharmacists is what continues to make the most tremendous impact on my life as a teacher,” she said.

Dr. Vos focuses her classroom teaching on pediatrics and pharmacy practice. She co-coordinates a pediatrics elective course and the first module in a series of Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experiences and teaches in various therapeutics modules related to pediatrics. She serves as a preceptor for students and residents in the Pediatric Pulmonary & Allergy Clinic at the University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics and for a global health experience in Punta Gorda, Belize.

“I teach students to always seek to improve themselves,” she said. “I think students also need to find time to do what they love – whether it is spending time with family and friends, involvement in sports, traveling, or volunteerism. My goal is to help students succeed in the classroom and in the careers, but most importantly, in life.”

The following preceptors were recognized for excellence in the 2013-2014 academic year.

Preceptor Excellence Awards

  • IPPC Preceptor - Craig Clark, Clark's Health Mart Pharmacy, Cedar Rapids
  • APPE Preceptor - Matt Porepp, UIHC
  • Faculty Preceptor - Mike Farley, Mercy Hospital, Iowa City

The following faculty members were recognized with class awards:

John Swegle
P3 Teacher of the Year

John Swegle, Clinical Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Science, is the clinical pharmacist for the Mercy Family Medicine Residency in Mason City. The residency program is affiliated with Mercy Medical Center-North Iowa and serves as a teaching center for students from different disciplines, including medicine, nursing and pharmacy. Dr. Swegle also serves as a preceptor for pharmacy students and pharmacy practice residents. In addition, he is a consultant pharmacist for Hospice of North Iowa and a faculty member for the Palliative Medicine Fellowship Mercy Medical Center-North Iowa Palliative Medicine Fellowship.

Gary Milavetz
, BS, PharmD, RPh, FCCP, FAPhA
P2 Teacher of the Year

Gary Milavetz received his Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy and Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Minnesota. After completing a Post-Doctoral clinical pharmacy fellowship in pediatric respiratory diseases, he was appointed to the faculty of the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. Currently, he is an Associate Professor of Pharmacy and Head of the Applied Clinical Sciences Division in the Department of Professional Practice and Sciences. He is also a clinical pharmacist in the Allergy and Pulmonary Division of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. He sees patients and directs senior pharmacy clerkship students at the Pediatric Allergy and Pulmonary Clinics. He guides professional and graduate student learning in respiratory therapeutics and pediatric pharmacotherapy topics. Improving the safety and effectiveness of medications has been my goal for almost 30 years in academia. My research has focused on pediatric and respiratory pharmacotherapeutics in the past and most recently in improving the understanding the effects of drugs on driving performance. Dr. Milavetz has been the recipient of Collegiate Teacher of the Year, P2 Teacher of the Year and Faculty preceptor awards in the past. He has been involved in the review and revision of the professional curriculum at the College of Pharmacy and currently chairs the Curriculum Transformation Committee.

Daryl Murry
P1 Teacher of the Year

DJ Murry is an Associate Professor and Director of the Analytical Laboratory at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. He received his BS degree in Pharmacy from the University of Iowa in 1987 and subsequently completed an American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists accredited residency in Hospital Pharmacy. He received his Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy in 1991 and then completed a three- year Fellowship in Pharmacokinetics at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis Tennessee. Prior to returning to Iowa, Dr. Murry held faculty appointments at Baylor College of Medicine in Texas and Purdue University in Indiana. Dr. Murry serves as course co-coordinator and instructor for Introduction to Clinical Pharmacogenomics and instructor for Clinical Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacology, and Pharmaceutics in the PharmD curriculum. Dr. Murry is course director and lecturer for Introduction to Pharmaceutical Sciences Research, course co-coordinator and lecturer for Clinical Pharmacogenomics and Principles of Experimental Therapeutics and lecturer for Quantitative Research Methods and Applied Clinical and Translational Science. Dr. Murry is a member of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, the American Society of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology and the Iowa Pharmacy Association.