Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Two College of Pharmacy graduate students and a professor were recognized at the 2013 American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) Annual Meeting and Exposition, held Nov. 10-14 in San Antonio, Texas.

Sheetal D'Mello won the 2013 AAPS Graduate Student Symposium in Biotechnology for her abstract entitled “Enhanced Bone Regeneration Utilizing Non-Viral Complex Activated Collagen Scaffolds.” This graduate student award is sponsored by Pfizer.

Hoa Nguyen won the 2103 AAPS Graduate Student Symposium in Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacodynamics, and Drug Metabolism, and Clinical Pharmacology and Translational Research, sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company, for her abstract “Physiologically-Based Risk Assessment for Drug Degradation Products.”

Professor Lee Kirsch, PhD, was elected as an AAPS Fellow. Fellow status is awarded to those with a sustained level of superior and distinguished professional achievement and contributions in a field relative to the association’s mission. In addition to his work at the UI, Kirsch has also had a distinguished career as an industrial scientist at Lilly Research Laboratories. His main areas of research have been the kinetics and mechanisms of drug stability, and scientifically-based pharmaceutical package integrity technology.

Click here for a list of poster presentations presented at the annual meeting by graduate students, postdocs, and visiting scholars.

This year’s theme was “Technology, Strategy, and Patient.” The session based on this theme explored the use of innovative technology and scientific research and its impact on future patient care.